PreventionFIRST! celebrates 20th anniversary

PreventionFIRST!, formerly the Coalition for a Drug-Free Greater Cincinnati, held its 20th anniversary Community Awards Luncheon to honor substance abuse prevention leaders in the Tri-State.
The event took place April 29 at the Cintas Center.

U.S. Sen. Rob Portman, founder of the coalition, delivered the keynote address and highlighted the importance of prevention strategies.

“The time has never been more important than now to recognize the value of prevention,” said Mary Haag, president and CEO of PreventionFIRST! “We cannot do this alone, and PreventionFIRST! is pleased to recognize community partners who have made significant contributions to the prevention of substance abuse over the past year in our region.”

Honorees included:

  • Rob Portman Leadership Award – Greg Hartmann, former Hamilton County Commissioner.
  • Rachel Hutzel Prevention Partner Award – Deanna Shores, Coalition for a Healthy Middletown.
  • Carolyn Ford-Griffith Youth of the Year Award – DeMarco Baker, Walnut Hills Anti-Drug Coalition; and Kiera Peterson, Partnership for a Drug-Free Milford Miami Township; honorable mention – Michael Henry, Boone County Alliance; and Sara Lowery, Norwood Drug and Alcohol Abuse Prevention Coalition.

Event sponsors were American Financial Group and Keating Muething & Klekamp.

Click on a thumbnail below to view photo gallery.

Photos by Sabercomm


Discover more from Movers & Makers

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.