Four join Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame

Four of the region’s most respected individuals in tennis were inducted into the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame in ceremonies held during the Western & Southern Open.

“The Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame’s 2016 class features include some of Cincinnati’s most well-known tennis players and advocates,” said Dick Friedman, chairman of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame.

The new hall-of-famers – Audra Falk Billmeyer, Doug Corn, Rachel Fair and Tony Pack  – were inducted on Center Court during opening night of the Western & Southern Open. A reception and dinner in the Grandstand Tent took place before the ceremony.


The honorees:

Tennis hall of fame

Audra Falk Billmeyer

Audra Falk Billmeyer of Kenwood achieved a No. 14 national junior ranking and several top three finishes in singles, winning all major national doubles titles. She attended Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, where she achieved a 140-6 singles record and became the school’s first individual state champion, winning six state championships, three in singles and three in team. At Vanderbilt University, she was All-SEC all four years and a two-time All-American, reaching the 2004 NCAA Sweet Sixteen in singles. She achieved a No. 5 singles ranking and helped lead her team to a Final Four appearance and a team ranking of No. 2. She currently works in the pharmaceutical industry and lives in Chicago with her husband, Peter, and 16-month-old son, Hunter.

Doug Corn

Doug Corn

Doug Corn ranked No. 1 in Boys 16s and 18s in Cincinnati from 1974 to 1977 and No. 6 and No. 2 in Boys 16s and Boys 18s in the Midwest, respectively. He attended Oak Hills High School, advancing to the finals in the Ohio State High School Tennis Tournament his senior year before playing at the University of Tennessee. Corn enjoyed a two-year professional career. He now is a representative for the Northwestern Mutual Financial Network in the areas of estate, life and disability planning. He lives in Cincinnati with his wife, Ronda, and their three daughters.

Rachel Fair

Rachel Fair

Rachel Fair began playing tennis at age 14 in Cleveland. She entered and won the 16 & Under Plain Dealer City Tournament when she was 15. The Forest City Tennis Club gave her opportunities to play tennis and compete with other American Tennis Association clubs and players. In 1957, Fair met Arthur Ashe and watched her hero, Althea Gibson, play at an exhibition at the ATA Nationals. In Cincinnati, Fair began her career with the Cincinnati Recreation Commission, supervising a number of programs, including the National Junior Tennis League.She helped found the Inner City Tennis Project, which aims to provide an affordable tennis experience to children in Greater Cincinnati.

Tony Pack

Tony Pack

Tony Pack graduated from Woodward High School and the University of Cincinnati. In 1991, he was the Colonial Racquet Club Men’s 3.5 division champion. From 1991 to 2005, he was a USTA certified tennis official and is currently a USPTR certified tennis professional. He retired from the Cincinnati Recreation Commission after 34 years of service. He founded the Inner City Tennis Project with Rachel Fair in 1986. Pack serves on the boards of the Greater Cincinnati Tennis Association and the Midwest Tennis Association.


The current 58 members of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame:

2002 – Bill Talbert, Tony Trabert

2003 – Al Bunis, Nat Emerson, Paul Flory, Kathy Graeter, Barry MacKay, Tom Price, Ruth Sanders Cordes

2004 – J. Howard “Bumpy” Frazer, Bill Lofgren, Marty Wolf, Clara Louise Zinke

2005 – Jim Brockhoff, Andrea Farley, Jack Guggenheim, Reuben Holden, Caroline Kuhlman

2006 – Carol Brestel, Henry Bunis, Winona Closterman, Steve Contardi

2007 – Heather Hairston-Propp, Joe O’Brien, Dave Power, Carol Tanner

2008 – Carl Lindner, Rich Lindner, Charles Thomas, Jeff Wolf

2009 – John Cook, Angela Farley Wilson, Lynn Nabors-McNally, John Peckskamp

2010 – Joe Leytze, Jim Meakin, Kara Molony-Hussey, Bill Pendl

2011 – Bobbie Farley, Jim Farley, Dan Kronauge, John Rauh

2012 – Bruce Flory, Phillip S. Smith, Joann “Jo” Frazer, George McCabe

2013 – Wallace “Wally” Holzman, Dr. Jerrold M. “Jerry” Levin, Tracy Barton Ramirez, Russell “Rusty” Schubert

2014 – John F. Barrett, Henry Truxtun Emerson, Jason Yeager, Linda Burrell Zulia

2015 – Emilia Anderson, Marshall Chambers, Brian Leshner, Eric Toth

Click on a thumbnail below to view photos from the event.

Leave a Reply