Architecture leader and UC campus innovator to be honored

Jay Chatterjee

Jay Chatterjee

Jay Chatterjee, recognized for his transformational impact on the University of Cincinnati architecture program and the campus itself, is being honored by ArtsWave.

The Rosa F. and Samuel B. Sachs Fund Prize is made possible through an endowed gift to ArtsWave in 1929. The bequest from Samuel B. Sachs was intended to honor outstanding accomplishments in the arts: visual arts, music, theater, dance, literature, sculpture and architecture.

Over the years, the Sachs Fund Prize has recognized individuals who have contributed to the cultural life of Cincinnati, bringing distinction to themselves and the region. Previous recipients include Zaha Hadid, Leah Stewart, Phyllis Weston, Stephen Sondheim, Shepard Fairey, James Conlon, Kathy Wilson and Jim Borgman.

The Sachs Fund Prize Committee, led by ArtsWave life trustee Richard Rosenthal, decided early on not to make this a competitive process with a call for nominations and/or applications. Rather, using the MacArthur Foundation’s “genius grants” as a model, ArtsWave assembles a group of the region’s most knowledgeable leaders in theater, music, dance, architecture, visual arts, photography and literature to select the winner.

“We are delighted to honor Jay Chatterjee,” said ArtsWave president and CEO Alecia Kintner. “His contributions to the architecture and aesthetics of the University of Cincinnati, as well as to numerous cultural and civic projects, will help to distinguish our region for its arts and innovation for years to come.”

Chatterjee is dean emeritus at UC.

Chatterjee’s service on the Cincinnati Urban Design Review Board spans three decades. He has served on numerous civic boards, including the Contemporary Arts Center, the Historic Conservation Board, the Architecture Foundation of Cincinnati and the Seasongood Foundation of Good Government. The University of Cincinnati created the “Chatterjee-Global” lecture program in his honor.

ArtsWave’s Community Campaign runs through April 26.

Leave a Reply