New class Boardway Bound for ArtsWave

The 2021 class of ArtsWave Boardway Bound kicked off this week. This year’s class, selected through a competitive process, includes participation from 27 individuals, representing 22 corporations, organizations and institutions across the region.

The one-of-a kind leadership development and placement program prepares participants for board service to arts organizations. The 2021 curriculum includes a combination of six in-person and online class sessions and carefully chosen articles, thought pieces, videos and sample board materials.

A defining feature of Boardway Bound is its “speed dating” interview process. In the final class, candidates come face-to-face with arts clients for mutual interviews. ArtsWave then matches the top choices of participants with the top choices of arts clients to begin a relationship that they define together.

In addition to training for board leadership, the program offers a unique peer learning environment across companies and the chance to interact with Greater Cincinnati’s arts professionals.

ArtsWave board member Shane Starkey of Thompson Hine

The law firm Thompson Hine returns as networking sponsor this year. Cincinnati office partner and ArtsWave board member Shane Starkey notes, “Boardway Bound is unique from other leadership programs, in that it offers a variety of learning opportunities and experiences from arts experts, and at the end, it pairs the newly trained board member with an arts organization.”

Since 2004, ArtsWave has trained and placed more than 400 individuals on arts boards, ushering a new generation of leadership, adding to the capacity for arts institutions and creating boards that represent the diverse communities each organization serves.

Class members for 2021:

  • Shannon Cheek, owner/principal, The Kearney Group
  • Priya Dhuru, principal, Healthcare Architect, Champlin Architecture
  • Grace Eichler, dentist, Dental Care of Fairfield
  • Andrea Faulkner, assistant director, Office for Exceptional Children, Ohio Department of Education
  • Jessica Fitzpatrick, donor relations specialist, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Angela Fogarty, clinical manager, Christ Hospital Health Network
  • Kathryn Hoffman, financial advisor, Merrill Lynch
  • Greg Hyland, senior customer lean leader, GE Aviation
  • Natalie Kachadurian, senior brand manager/media strategy, Secret NA, Procter & Gamble
  • Melissa Lusk, author/editor, Barenreiter Publishing, Germany
  • Ashleigh Marable, training design and execution project manager, Kroger
  • Julie Martin, owner/designer, Sweetheart Interior Design
  • Christine Marx, div. senior VP, Great American Insurance Group
  • Anthony McNamara, managing associate attorney/Labor & Employment, Thompson Hine LLP
  • William Millward, project manager, Kroger
  • Lindsey Mithoefer, brand communications manager, Procter & Gamble
  • Zach Moning, manager, marketing & communications, ArtsWave
  • Alex Morton-Green, director of development, Urban League of Greater Southwestern Ohio
  • Brooke Mullett, senior director, Operations: Surgical Services/Periop, Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Andrea Poling
  • Eric Puryear, associate, GBBN Architects
  • Connie Ross, VP & diversity, equity & inclusion chair, Empower Media Marketing
  • Liane Rousseau Porter, attorney, Wright Morris & Arthur LLP
  • Rachel Smith, radiology director/operations, Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Mary Stone, sr. director, client operations, Empower Media Marketing
  • Scott Uhler, senior software engineer, CNBC
  • Erica Zaretsky, supervisor, RSM

Leave a Reply