Jazz Hall of Fame to welcome 9

Saturday, April 30, 6:30 p.m., Greaves Hall, Northern Kentucky University

The Cincinnati Jazz Hall of Fame will induct nine musicians chosen for their impact on the jazz community.

The 2016 inductees, chosen by the Hall of Fame’s board and nominated by the public, are musicians vocalists, bands, clubs and educators who were either born in Cincinnati or have a connection with the city.

The inductees include Bobby Geyer, trumpet; Larry Kinley, vocalist; Eddie Morgan, trombone; Philip Paul, drums; Kenny Poole, guitar; Lynn Seaton, bass; Lee Stolar, piano; Mary Ellen Tanner, vocalist; and the Blue Wisp Big Band.

Chad Wesselkamper, a bass player and student at the School for Creative and Performing Arts, will be recognized as the recipient of the Jazz Studies Scholarship.

The induction will be followed by a concert featuring trumpeter Tim Hagans, the Northern Kentucky University Faculty Jazz Band and the NKU Jazz Ensemble. Nick Clooney will emcee for the second year.

The first class of inductees, in 2015, included Gordon Brisker, Rosemary Clooney, Cal Collins, Frank Foster, Tim Hagans, Fred Hersch, Jimmy McGary, Curtis Pegler, Oscar Treadwell and John von Ohlen.

The Jazz Hall of Fame will mark its first anniversary in May. Founders are collecting memorabilia for the time when the hall has a physical location. The hall, which operates under the auspices of Jazz Alive for now, has a board of directors made up of nine people and is seeking nonprofit status. Kay Casey is founder and executive director.

This event is free and open to the public. For information: kaycaseycinti@aol.com or 207-0476

Leave a Reply